Navratri and Nine forms of Mata

Navratri is the nine nights and ten days festival ( it can even exceed and be less then nine because of the tiths i.e dates of Hindu Calender) celebratedly widely in India. It ends with Vijay dashmi ,Dashera.

Mata Adhi Shakti, the Goddess Durga has Nine forms each day of Navratri is dedicated to any one of these forms.

Navratri is scheduled as

Day 1- Shilapurti (Parvati) pooja and the Kalash sthapna(or gath Sthapna)

Day 2-Brahmcharini pooja

Day 3- Chandrakanta pooja

Day 4-  Kushmandapooja

Day 5- Skandamata Pooja

Day 6- Katyayani Pooja

Day 7- Kaalratri Pooja

Day 8- Maha Gauri Pooja 

Day 9-Siddhidatri Puja

Day 10-Aparajitha Puja or Shami Pooja – Vijaya Dashami or Dasara


17 thoughts on “Navratri and Nine forms of Mata

  1. Pingback: Nine forms of Goddess Durga with Images « theindianmythology

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s